Posted on

G is for @Goodreads Groups #AprilA2Z #atozchallenge

G button

 

I must admit that I didn’t use half of the features on Goodreads when I first joined the site. I primarily used it to record my books – both read and to-be-read. I discovered that my reading choices were, um, let’s say limited. [Mysteries call to me.]

To add some variety, I joined The Seasonal Reading Challenge (SRC) group.

“This Is Basically How it works…
Each season (Winter, Spring, Summer, Fall) a new challenge with a series of reading related tasks such as reading a book written by a Goodreads Author or reading a book and watching the film will be posted. Tasks are based on suggestions from members of the group and my own personal ideas. Each task is assigned a point level and then it’s up to you to decide which tasks you’ll attempt (or if you want to try to finish them all) and then find the books that fit.”

Some members focus their task suggestions around using a Goodreads feature. So not only have I diversified my reading list, but I have also learned a lot more about Goodreads features through my participation in SRC.

Diversifiying my reading led me to join more Goodread Groups. There are so many groups from which to choose.

Looking great works of Russian literature? There is a group for that.

Like romance books with a little kick? There is a group for that.

Like BIG books and you cannot lie? There is a group for that. [And apparently a bag too.]

Goodreads Group #shoutout

Today best-selling author Molly McAdams will be discussing her new ebook novella Capturing Peace (out today), which ties closely to her upcoming novel (and new series) Sharing You in Goodreads Author Groups. She’ll be checking in to answer questions all day long. Capturing Peace is on sale today only for $1.99.

 

 

Are you a member of a Goodreads group?

 

The Seasonal Reading Challenge’s currently-read…

The Seasonal Reading Challenge 2897 members

The challenge that started in <a href=”http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/1218.The_Next_Best_Boo&#8230;

Books we’re currently reading

Dune
Duneby Frank HerbertStart date: March 1, 2014

 

The Thirteenth Tale
The Thirteenth Taleby Diane SetterfieldStart date: March 1, 2014





View this group on Goodreads »

Share book reviews and ratings with The Seasonal Reading Challenge, and even join a book club on Goodreads.

One response to “G is for @Goodreads Groups #AprilA2Z #atozchallenge

  1. I finally set up my Goodreads account at the beginning of this year and I’m STILL discovering new features. I think my favorite is the ability to scan books directly onto my shelves, and the ease of checking the availability of any book for purchase from a particular source. I’m not in any groups at this point–I’m mainly using it as a central place to keep track of my ever-growing TBR list.
    I’m posting about bookish topics all month during the A-Z Challenge–stop by if you like!

Leave a Reply

