Posted on

Adela Arthur and the Creator’s Clock by Judyann McCole [Book Review]

adelaarthurbanner

Adela Arthur and the Creator’s Clock

  • Author: Judyann McCole
  • Series: The Chronicles of A #1
  • ISBN: 1490322345 (ISBN13: 9781490322346)
  • Publication date: July 26, 2013
  • Genre: YA Fantasy
  • Add to Reading List:

About the Book:

To Who Ever This May Concern;

I wish I could tell you the contents of this book were purely fictional. That I, Adela Arthur, was just a normal sixteen year old from Portland; that dragons, giants, elves and mermaids were just myths.  Legends shared from crazy old grandparents to crazy old grandparents around campfires; after all that is what I used to believe.

I never would have thought they lived on the other side of our mirrors in a world called Cielieu. But they do…

I never would have thought there were humans, better known as Volsin that lived among them with the ability to create light from a single thought.  But there are…

I never would have thought I was one of them… But I am…

I am the last Arthur and I was brought to the human world after a Volsin, filled with greed, began to strip the light from our kind.

The human world was supposed to be a safe haven… but he’s found us and the only way to stop him is to go back to Cielieu and begin training as a student in the Elpida Castle of Light.

Like I said I wish the contents of this book were purely fictional and not my life…

ADELA ARTHUR

About the Author:

…Roman Catholic

A lover of Books, Florence + Machine, The color Teal, Asian Food, Chocolate, Pandas, and  The Rain.

Also A fan of writing in odd places like in bathtubs, under staircases, in a tree, or maybe zoo.

I don’t know why I never thought about writing. As I was searching for a niche in everything else I was also writing stories about a girl searching for where she belongs and people my age going on wild adventures. One day a teacher of mine, Ms. E. McAllen, asked me what I loved to do and it finally hit me. I love being a storyteller. But I was afraid no one would want, or care to read what I had to say. Until another teacher, Ms. K. Cole gave me the pep talk that changed my life. Judyann McCole

I would not have the strength to grow the hell that is getting published and I would not be an Author if it were not for my pen name Judyann McCole.

My Debut Novel, Adela Arthur and the Creator’s Clock, will be out this summer.

MOONRISE will be in stores Fall of 2013.

Where to Find Judyann:

Website * Facebook * Facebook Fanpage * Twitter

My Take

Adela Arthur and the Creator’s Clock is the story of ordinary girl whose not so ordinary past unexpectedly catches up to her in the girls’ bathroom in Ashland High School.

Orphaned, poor and bullied, Adela is a sixteen-year-old just trying to make it through high school unscathed. One day, she sees a flash of something otherworldly in the bathroom mirror at school and starts to question the world around her. When a chimera escapes from a mirror and attacks Adela and two of her classmates (killing one of them) in a library, the secrets of her family’s past start to be revealed.

Adela discovers that a world called Cielieu lies on the other side of mirrors and that she is a Volsin and the last of the Arthur clan. [Volsins are kind of advanced humans with the ability to manipulate light by thought. For example, they can use light to generate flying discs for transportation and to generate arrows]. Adela learns that she, her grandfather, her best friend Hector, and Hector’s mother escaped Cielieu after Prince Delapeur (an evil Volsin) started stealing the lights of other Volsins to become all-powerful. Adela’s parents and Hector’s father were lost in the effort to get Volsins safely to the other side of the mirror (they now live in “real world” Portland).

Adela Arthur Despite warnings, Adela and Hector feel compelled to return to Cielieu to connect with their forgotten pasts and try to protect the future of both sides. Having been away from Cielieu for so long, they find that they are well behind their peers in school. Their lack of knowledge (and light) and “other side” experiences cast them as outsiders  – just as they were in the real world. The story line picks up quickly at the Elpida Castle of Lights (their new school). We are introduced to a host of characters from the various fractions of Volsins (Golden Hives, Emerald Dens, Red Diamonds, and Sapphire Falls). Adela and Hector find that attending Elpida Castle of Lights is like being a freshman in high school all over again. Until the real danger sets in…

Adela is a protagonist that I think many people will relate to well. I found the story to be enjoyable with enough plot twists to keep me interested. It’s a good combination of fantasy and adventure with a tiny touch of romance. [I sense a love triangle brewing.] I liked that McCole included a few modern pop culture references that made me laugh from familiarity. I did find some of the writing to be a bit choppy in places and my ebook copy could have used some additional editing.

All in all, I think that it was solid debut effort. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.

Recommended for:

  • Fans of fantasy books*
  • Fans of young adult books
  • Fans of middle-grade books

* Although, I haven’t read any Harry Potter books, I have several friends who are major Potters fans. They seemed especially excited when I told them about the book.

Where to Buy the Book:

 

This post is part of Adela Arthur and the Creator’s Clock Book Tour – July 29 to August 11 hosted by Black, White, and Read Tours. I received an advance copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. See the Tour Schedule for additional stops (including reviews, interviews, and excerpts).

 

I really like the book cover. Najia did a great job!

 

I am counting this book toward:

  • Read. Sleep. Repeat.’s August ARC Challenge
  • SRC Task# 30.3 – Sheila/Kathy G’s task: Kickin’ Back with the Girls from R.E.L.A.X. – Read a book with an evil main character.
2 responses to “Adela Arthur and the Creator’s Clock by Judyann McCole [Book Review]

  1. Thank you so much for your review!

  2. Pingback: Interview with Judyann McCole, author of Adela Arthur and the Creator’s Clock | A. Literary Mafia

Leave a Reply

