Posted on

Have you read The World is My Oyster But I Didn’t Know How to Cook?

oystergif

About the Book

Longtime journalist and award-winning writer Christy Potter has compiled some of her recent work into The World is My Oyster But I Didn’t Know How to Cook. It includes humorous and thought-provoking essays on New York (where she lives), Kansas (where she’s from), childhood, books, infertility, good days, bad days, and life in general, as well as interviews she’s done with well-known writers like Janet Evanovich and Lois Lowry. There are also a couple of short stories tossed in, just for a little variety. Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert and David Sedaris will love the fresh, new voice of Christy Potter.

Cover

Buy It At:

Add It to Your Reading List:

Download a free sample.

About the Author

Christy Potter is an award-winning writer whose work has appeared in newspapers and magazines across the country. She’s developed a loyal following through her blog, www.ChristytheWriter.com, which focuses on books, reading, and the craft of writing. Her most recent book is The World Was My Oyster But I Didn’t Know How to Cook. She also hosts a regular podcast, available on iTunes, called Going Gray. In her spare time, she is a runner, sculptor, environmentalist, beer enthusiast, and thrift store queen.

christy in writing roomChristy was born and raised in a small town in Kansas, where she honed her writing skills by creating short stories and poems, which she Crayon-illustrated herself and bound with a hole punch and yarn. The Pig Who Hated Mud is still a bestseller among her grandmothers.

She now lives in the New York City metro area where she recently stepped down from a long career as a journalist and is now a full-time author. She lists her biggest influences as John Updike, Philip Roth, Susan Sontag, and Jonathan Franzen.

Visit Christy

Related Posts

 

This post is part of The World Was My Oyster But I Didn’t Know How to Cook Book Tour – July 22 to 28 hosted by Black, White, and Read Tours.

In the sample excerpt (see link above), Christy ponders the question, “How long does it take for you to become who you are going to be?” What do you think?

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s