Posted on

Chain Reaction: FALLEN + ESSENCE + SHOUT, SISTER, SHOUT!

Lucinda “Luce” Price is a having a tough time befriending Molly, her reform-school classmate in Fallen by Lauren Kate. During class, a teacher asks, “And do we all know who the wicked angel was who battled God?” Molly then passes Luce a note that says, “Luce … Lucifer … any relation?”

Not so much.

“… Luce started furiously scribbling an answer on the back of Molly’s note. That she had been named for Lucinda Williams, the greatest living female singer-songwriter whose almost-rained-out concert was the site of her parents’ first encounter.”

“The greatest living female singer-songwriter?” That’s some high praise. Although I am familiar with Lucinda’s cover of Cold Cold Heart on the Timeless: Hank Williams Tribute album and I didn’t know much about Lucinda’s own music. So I decided to look Lucinda Williams up. I picked up her Essence CD. I am not sure how to describe her music. “A Little Bit Country-A Little Bit Rock ‘N Roll?” With some folk and blues thrown in… Um, let’s just call it eclectic.

My favorite songs on the CD are I Envy The Wind and Get Right With God. What are yours?


Nosey parker that I am, I couldn’t stop with the Essence CD. I picked up Shout, Sister, Shout!: Ten Girl Singers Who Shaped A Century by Roxane Orgill. Lucinda Williams is one of the ten girl singers featured. There must be something to Luce’s greatest living female singer-songwriter assertion.  I’ll let you know what I think of the book.

Now I need to get my hands on a copy of Lucinda’s Car Wheels On A Gravel Road CD!

Check out my Shout, Sister, Shout! Pinterest board. Can you think of any pins that I should add? Please be sure to follow me while you’re there.

One response to “Chain Reaction: FALLEN + ESSENCE + SHOUT, SISTER, SHOUT!

  1. Pingback: S is for Shout, Sister, Shout! [Book Review] @AprilA2Z #atozchallenge | A. Literary Mafia

Leave a Reply

