Posted on

The Gift of Pain [Book Review]

  • Author: Frederick W. Marks
  • Reading Level: Adult
  • Paperback: 94 pages
  • Publisher: Emmaus Road Publishing (January 16, 2012)

“Pain, when it rubs against character, acts as a sharper.” –  Frederick W. Marks, The Gift of Pain

 

COVER DESCRIPTION

“Few readers will come away from this series of meditations without feeling lighter and more optimistic in the face of life’s challenges.”

 

TWITTER-SIZE SUMMARY

#3words2describe – short, easy, limited

 

MY TAKE

The Gift of Pain is a quick and easy read. Unfortunately, I just couldn’t connect with it. I was expecting more practical advice on dealing with pain and viewing it as a gift that can be used to improve your life. Instead, I felt like I was reading a reference list of notable people who suffered pain in their lives and went on to be successful (not so much on how they overcame it). And some of the oddly placed asides on Catholicism and Islam seem to work against Marks’ opening statement: “It is my hope that the following meditations on pain and suffering will be helpful to people of all faiths or none at all.”

I liked meditation three, Pain as a Sharper, the best of the seven meditations.  While I didn’t feel lighter or more optimistic upon finishing the book, I did find the following statement very powerful:  “Pain, when it rubs against character, acts as a sharper.”

Recommended for:

  • People looking for ideas for essays or sermons

NOTE: I received a free copy of  The Gift of Pain through a Goodreads First Reads giveaway.

Trade Books for Free - PaperBack Swap.

Swap Books for Free – PaperBackSwap.com: I am posting my copy of The Gift of Pain on my swapping bookshelf at PaperBackSwap. Drop by and request it if you are interested in reading it.

 

Leave a Reply

