Posted on

Who is your Vanessa Williams? [POLL]

When you first think of Vanessa Williams, in what role do you picture her?  Who is your Vanessa Williams?

 

Vanessa Williams is a singer (The Sweetest Days, Everlasting Love, Comfort Zone, Star Bright), actress (Soul Food, Eraser, The Courage to Love, Mama Mirabelle’s Home Movies), dancer, mother, daughter and now – author (You Have No Idea). It’s funny. Although I remember when she was crowned Miss America and the subsequent dethroning (my mother was so horrified and upset for her), Miss America is not what I think of when I hear her name. Nor do I think of Desperate Housewives or Ugly Betty.

My Vanessa Williams is a singer. She is the woman in the red dress on the cover of The Right Stuff album. It was one of the first CDs that I got when I was a kid. I used to dance to The Right Stuff video on the weekends (I had it recorded on VHS). With some boots and a leather jacket, I could have been one of her backup dancers for sure. Okay, maybe only in my mind.

At the time, I didn’t realize that Vanessa was a professionally trained dancer. After watching her in the movie Dance With Me, I’d like to take some dance lessons from her. My salsa could use some work.

Leave a Reply

