Posted on

SOCIAL SUICIDE [BOOK REVIEW]

  • Author: Gemma Halliday  | Website | Facebook |
  • Reading Level: Ages 13 and up
  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: HarperTeen (April 24, 2012)

The first thing I did was run. Okay, actually the first thing I did was scream, lose my balance, flail my arms in the air like some kind of uncoordinated bird, then slide down the side of the tree and land on my butt. Then I ran. – Hartley Featherstone in Gemma Halliday’s Social Suicide

I imagine that Hartley Featherstone is a like a modern-day Nancy Drew (although I haven’t read any Nancy Drew books). She is a reporter at the Herbert Hoover High Homepage (school’s online newspaper). While investigating a school cheating scandal, Hartley finds Sydney Sanders (Homecoming Queen nominee and accused test cheater) dead in her pool. Sensing something fishy about both the suicide and the cheating, Hartley launches her own Twittercide investigation.

Even though I was able to figure out Sydney Sanders’ killer well before it was revealed, I liked the book all same. It’s a quick and entertaining read from my adult POV. Hartley is smart, funny, and dedicated to getting the best story. I mean, would you chase down a potential murder story as a teen (or even as an adult)? She is a welcome change from the weak female protagonists floating around in many YA novel these days (+). While it’s clear that she is crushing on Chase (her editor), chasing boys is not the primary focus of the book (+ +). I would read other books in the series.

The ARC book’s back cover headline says, “Veronica Mars meets Heist Society in this hilarious and sexy sequel!” Sexy? Not so much. It’s intended for readers 13 and up. I think the writing is age appropriate and engaging to a variety of audiences.

Recommended for:

  • YA readers
  • Mystery/Suspense readers

Read Social Suicide? Please rate it.

Check out my Social Suicide Pinterest board. Can you think of any pins that I should add? Please be sure to follow me while you’re there.

NOTE: I received a free copy (ARC) of Social Suicide (Deadly Cool #2) through a Goodreads First Reads giveaway. It is the second book of Gemma Halliday’s Deadly Cool series. I hadn’t read Deadly Cool, the series’ first book, before starting Social Suicide. It’s wasn’t a problem.

SIDE NOTE: If book three is about another murder, Hartley (and those around her) better be concerned. She may be turning into Jessica Fletcher from the Murder, She Wrote book/television series. Murder seems to follow Hartley around just like it followed Jessica.

Looking for something a little more grown up? Gemma Halliday also writes books for adults.

Leave a Reply

