Posted on

“I always wanted to run away with a cowboy.” How about you?

Cowboy Take Me Away by the Dixie Chicks [Video]

My theme song for Jennifer “JJ” Blythe James.

“When I was a little girl I used to watch old Westerns on televison, she said, hoping to lighten both of their moods. I always wanted to run away with a cowboy.” – Jennifer “JJ” Blythe James in Corralled (Harlequin Intrigue Series) by B.J. Daniels

In Corralled, pop star JJ runs away from a murder scene with the help of an unsuspecting cowboy after meeting him at a bar. Forced to stay in the cowboy’s company for protection,  JJ wonders if, in a different situation, Logan Chisholm could be the run-away-with-him cowboy of her dreams. I can see the appeal of running away with a cowboy. Rough, rugged, and handsome, a cowboy could offer a lot of opportunities for adventure. It wouldn’t work for me as I don’t care for horseback riding.

When I was a girl, I wanted to run away with Walter Eckland (played by Cary Grant) in Father Goose.* Just like the school girls in the movie. Why? Mr. Eckland was smart, funny and most importantly – he had a boat. I was glued to the television on the rare occasions that the movie aired. My mother got a kick out of it because the movie came out way before I was born.

As an adult, I’d still like to run away with a sailor (in a pretend scenario, of course). I’d love to travel from port to port meeting new people and trying new foods. When we needed to get away from it all, we’d just pull up anchor and head to sea. How romantic!

Hmm. A pirate might work here too. Jack Sparrow, maybe? I need to get down to some docks a.s.a.p. Not many sailors in a landlocked city.

I digress.

Who did you want to run away with when you were younger? 

Who would you want to run away with as an adult?

Is the type of person different now that you are an adult? Why?

UPDATE May 14, 2013: This was my selection for the Bout of Books 7.0 – Soundtrack Challenge hosted by Medusa’s Library

2 responses to ““I always wanted to run away with a cowboy.” How about you?

  1. Pingback: I Just Want You to Know, The Rock Star in Seat 3A Glimmers. | A. Literary Mafia

  2. Awesome! Thanks for playing along.

Leave a comment